Steal the Spotlight

Album and DVD reviews
Concert Review
Photo Album

Foo Fighters

Sonic Highways


Dave Grohl – lead vocals, guitar, drums

Chris Shiflett – lead guitar, backing vocals

Pat Smear – rhythm guitar

Nate Mendel – bass

Taylor Hawkins – drums, backing vocals


Foo Fighters really began back in 1990 while the Dave Grohl was doing some drumming for a band you might now, Nirvana. While on tour with the band Grohl would write songs and once in a while he would record some demo and covers that he liked. He actually released a cassette of some of those in 1992 called Pocketwatch. When Nirvana frontman, Kurt Cobain, was found dead in 1994 the band disbanded. After receiving offers to play drums for others bands he decided to enter the studio and record 15 of the 40 tracks that he had written while on tour with Nirvana. He played every instrument and sang every vocal on the tracks with the exception of a guitar part on “X-Static” which was played by Greg Dulli. He released the recordings in a limited run under the title Foo Fighters. The tape circulated in the music industry and created interest among records labels. After forming a full lineup the guys released the album on Grohl’s new label with licensing from Capital Records. After touring the spring of 1996 the guys entered the studio to write and record the next Foo Fighters record. After recording the tracks, Grohl decided to re-record the drum tracks for the album and prompted Goldsmith to leave the band. The album was released in 1997 and featured tracks like “Monkey Wrench”, “Everlong” and “My Hero.” In September 97 another band member exited the band and announced his replacement. The band’s next album There Is Nothing Left to Lose drop and produced the band’s first Billboard Hot 100. In 2002 Grohl helped the Queens of the Stone Age finish the album and it almost broke up the Foo Fighters, but the guys were able to talk and get together to produce One by One which was also released in 2002. In 2005 the band released In Your Honor which was a two-disc album. 2007 seen the next release hit stores. Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace produced a number 1 single in “The Pretender.” Their next record, Wasting Light, debuted #1 on the Billboard 200 while the newest release Sonic Highway hit stores November 2014. The album features 8 tracks and gets going with “Something From Nothing.” The track is an amazing track that should be on everyone’s iPod. It offers up a great array of tunes along with smooth vocals that round out the track. I love all the different sounds that you hear during the song. It’s at the top of my list for great tunes. “The Feast and The Famine” continues to give up some great music. Its tempo is a little faster and the vocals a bit rougher than the opener. They rip off some nice lyrics. Those lyrics so repeat just a little bit love the vibe of the tune. “Congregation” opens with a nice intro before some super clear vocals sweep in. the track sounds airy and in great spirit. It rolls along with well written lyrics that offer up a great message you can dive into and really hold onto them. “What Did I Do? God As My Witness” begins with a slow pace but does it in a way that keeps you around for the bulk of the track. when the tracks gets going in full force it does it with a bang. The track goes from station to station with its transitions. I love the way they have this structured. It’s awesome and then you bring in the lyrics on top of it. This track may be one of the best from these fighter foos. “Outside” opens with a nice thick bass before the rest of the guys get into the mix. The track isn’t that bad but among the first four tunes it just is missing something to me. I wouldn’t skip if, but it wouldn’t be a go to track for me. It offers solid tunes, clean vocals, and that awesome bass that catches my ear in any thing. “In The Clear” is a solid tune with clear vocals that you can follow along with. The track repeats a good amount and while the tune is smooth is does get a bit old hearing the same line over and over. I feel this one will get lost in the shuffle. “Subterranean” is a slow moving tune with an awesome vibe. I love the music in this one and it’s a bit louder than I expected it to be. So much so I had to take an ear bud out momentarily to turn down the volume. The vocals are silky smooth once again while the lyrics are easy to pick up on. The track floats along for 6 minutes. The album wraps up as “Subterranean” rolls right into “I Am A River.” It’s a soft opening with guitars of all sights and sounds. The track remains soft as it again floats by like big fluffy clouds on a calm summer day. The track repeats a lot, but has a deep meaning to it if you can hang around to hear it. The music is whimsical to say the least. It has a big band feel to it. Overall this is a great album, an instant classic in my mind. The writing is superb and the arrangement that has been paired with lyrics that go hand and hand. There are several tracks that top charts while a couple fly under the radar. The vocals are haunting and the little effects that they place on the tunes add so much flavor its ridiculous. It’s a top album for 2014 for sure.


Rating: 9 out of 10

Tracks to Watch:

Something From Nothing, The Feast and The Famine, What Did I Do? God As My Witness


Track List:

  1. Something From Nothing
  2. The Feast and The Famine
  3. Congregation
  4. What Did I Do? God As My Witness
  5. Outside
  6. In The Clear
  7. Subterranean
  8. I Am A River


Website (s):   

Feedback, submissions, ideas? Contact Us 2006-2013